Back to articles

Call for the European Prize for Urban Public Space 2022

Picture of the blocks taken from the air

The Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona (CCCB) announces the eleventh European Prize for Urban Public Space. This biennial honorary contest, since 2000 acknowledging the best interventions to create, transform and recover public spaces in European cities, will recognise works carried out between 2018 and 2021.

In a context like today’s, where climate emergency and the crisis generated by the COVID-19 pandemic show that cities around the world are facing new climatic, technological and social challenges, the value of public space is greater than ever. The Prize, which is the only one in Europe dedicated to public space and is awarded both to the authors of the project and its developers, aims to reflex the centrality of these issues and become an observatory of good practices that serves to come up with possible solutions to a future in which cities will have a primary role in defining society’s evolution.

International jury

President and representative of the CCCB
Teresa Galí-Izard, agricultural engineer and landscape designer, currently lectures in Landscape Architecture and is director of the Master of Sciences in Landscape Architecture at ETH Zurich, Switzerland.

Jury members
Hans Ibelings, Dutch architecture critic and historian, editor of The Architecture Observer.
Eleni Myrivili, Doctor of Anthropology, and Resilience and Sustainability advisor to Athens City Council.
Andreas Ruby, Director of the Swiss Architecture Museum in Basel and co-founder of Ruby Press.
Paloma Strelitz, British architect, creative director of Patch and founder of Assemble, London.
Špela Videčnik, architect, founder member of OFIS architects, Ljubljana, Slovenia.

Lluís Ortega, Doctor of Architecture (Polytechnic University of Catalonia-UPC), Philosophy graduate (University of Barcelona) and Master of Science-AAD (Columbia University).

Registration is open for submissions from 20 April to 17 May 2022. More information about the prize can be found through this link (opens in a new window).

Share this article